Challenging Racial ‘Norms’, by Elizabeth Opiyo

Jul 23, 2020

Hi, my name’s Elizabeth and I’m an apprentice management consultant at a company called Arcadis. Arcadis is the leading global natural and built asset design & consultancy firm. I am currently completing a level 4 data analysis apprenticeship.

Isn’t it crazy to think that something you have absolutely no control over can have the ability to influence almost every aspect of your life? From the career opportunities available to you, to your relationships, to the way that you’re treated by society - it goes without saying that race plays a huge part in them all. But why is this?

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always known that I was black. And by that, I don’t just mean I knew that I had black skin. What I mean by this is that I always knew that I was part of a group within society that was viewed and treated very differently and that, because of this, I would have to work twice as hard to get to where I wanted to be. As a very young child, this manifested in the form of things such as feeling the need to change my image (i.e. my hair texture or the way I dressed) or the way I behaved, in order to fit in with the children around me. And as an adult, funnily enough, it turns out that the exact same thing applies. The only difference is that, rather than it being just popularity on the line, the way I look, dress and behave can be the difference between employment and unemployment. Or, worst of all, the difference between life and death.