20% Off The Job Training Guide [by William Laven]

Feb 03, 2020

Hi! My name is William Laven and I am a Business Associate apprentice at Publicis Media but also an Influencer and Online Ambassador for WhiteHat. 

Some apprentices really struggle with keeping up with their 20% for their apprenticeships. In this guide, I will help you realise what can be used towards your 20%. I have been on my program for over 10 months now and it's something I struggled with initially but have developed a good understanding of what can count and am at 115% so hopefully, some of my tips can help you too. I found it helpful doing the odd check with my coach to see if my entries were ok but after that, you just get into the swing of it. 

If you’re new to your apprenticeship, you may be wondering, what actually is 20% Off The Job Training (often referred to as OTJT)+? It is defined as “training which is received by the apprentice, during the apprentice’s normal working hours, for the purpose of achieving the knowledge, skills and behaviours” related to your apprenticeship. It is a legal requirement that you spend 20% of your time (the equivalent of one day a week) on OTJT.  

Initially, it can be tricky to figure out what constitutes your OTJT, but once you get the hang of it, you’ll be surprised by how much you actually do. One of the hardest things is just remembering to record it. My top tip is to set 30 minutes aside each week to update your tracker, because the longer you leave it the more you will forget. 

Read on for guidance on things that can count towards your 20% OTJT… 

The easiest one - Coursework 

Whenever you work on your coursework you can always put it on your 20%. Even if you are doing some research or doing some final checks you can put that in. Everything makes a difference!

Sessions with your coach or line manager